$5.4 million awarded for a new Fonthill Branch

The Town of Pelham has been awarded $5.4 million in federal funding to build a brand-new library branch in Fonthill. The 18,000-square-foot facility will be a green building, with net-zero emissions.  

The Green and Inclusive Community Buildings program is part of the federal government’s Strengthened Climate Plan. The new branch will be built near the Meridian Community Centre (MCC) as a complement to this community hub. The facility will include accessibility features and green energy and climate resiliency components, such as solar panels, glazing, and natural lighting.

On September 2, members of municipal and regional council gathered at the MCC with library management and board members to officially announce the receipt of the grant. Vance Badawey, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Indigenous Services and Member of Parliament for Niagara Centre, on behalf of the Honourable Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Infrastructure and Communities, and Chris Bittle, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Canadian Heritage and Member of Parliament for St. Catharines were onsite to represent the federal government.

“This announcement is a great example of what government can do, working in partnership. With generous federal support, the Town of Pelham will now be able to replace a facility that while beautiful, has aged badly. The community can look forward to high quality library programming and materials in a comfortable, convenient environment at the MCC. I think of this as the cherry on top of the sundae that is the MCC. A great day for Pelham,” said His Worship Marvin Junkin, Mayor of the Town of Pelham.”

“We are thrilled at the opportunity to have a new 21st-century library that will serve the needs of our community into the future. We will move forward with lots of opportunities for staff and customers to provide input along the way,” said Julie Andrews, Chief Executive Officer of Lincoln Pelham Public Library. 

The initial grant was applied for in July 2021. The anticipated timeline will have the new branch completed in 2025. For further information, please contact Julie Andrews: andrews@lincoln.library.on.ca.

Pictured from left to right: Councillor Bob Hildebrandt, Councillor Marianne Stewart, Regional Councillor Diana Huson, Councillor John Wink , Teresa Quinlin-Murphy, Town Treasurer, MP Vance Badawey, Mayor Marvin Junkin, MP Chris Bittle, CEO Julie Andrews, Director of Customer Experience Amy Guilmette, Library Board Co-Chair Donna Burton, Councillor Wayne Olson, Library Board Co-Chair Nicole Nolan (not pictured).

Photo credits: Diana Huson.